On 28 June 2018, The National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) and the Ministry of Commerce (MOFCOM) jointly released the Special Administrative Measures on Access to Foreign Investment 2018 (“the Negative List”) outlining prohibited and restricted industries for foreign investment. The new Negative List is set to take effect on 28 July 2018.

The Negative List will replace the previous Catalogue for the Guidance of Foreign Investment Industries and reduce the number of restrictive measures from 63 in the previous version to 48.

The key changes to the 2018 Negative List include immediately relaxing and removing restrictions on foreign investment in industries such as agriculture, infrastructure and gradually reforming in manufacturing (automobile) and finance services in particular.

The complete Negative List 2018 can be found here (Chinese).

© 2018 CW CPA. All rights reserved.